• A- A A+

National Center for Seismology

Ministry of Earth Sciences, Government of India

Image of National Emblem of India
Image of Celebrating 150 years of the Mahatma Image of Swachh Bharat

About National Center for Seismology

National Center for Seismology (NCS) is the nodal agency of the Government of India for monitoring of earthquake activity in the country. NCS maintains National Seismological Network of 115 stations each having state of art equipment and spreading all across the country.NCS monitors earthquake activity all across the country through its 24x7 round the clock monitoring center. NCS also monitors earthquake swarm and aftershock through deploying temporary observatory close to the affected region.

Apart from earthquake monitoring, NCS is also actively involved in the Seismic Hazard Microzonation and seismological research. The major activities currently being pursued by the NCS are:

  1. Earthquake monitoring on 24X7 basis
  2. Operation and maintenance of national seismological network comprising of 115 Stations
  3. Maintenance of Seismological data centre and information services.
  4. Seismic hazard microzonation related studies
  5. Aftershock/Earthquake swarm monitoring/survey
  6. Understanding of Earthquake processes
  7. Public outreach

Monitoring Background:

The history of instrumental earthquake monitoring in  India dates back to  1898,  when the first seismological observatory of

the country was established at  Alipore  (Calcutta)  on  1 December, 1898 after the great  Shillong plateau earthquake of  1897.  The occurrence of devastating earthquakes such as,  the 1905 Kangra earthquake, 1934 Nepal-Bihar, Assam and  many other strong earthquakes,necessitated to strengthen the national seismological network progressively from a paltry 6 in 1940 to 8 in 1950, 15 in 1960 and 18 in 1970.Early 1960s marked a very important land mark in the history  of  seismic  monitoring, when the WWSSN(World Wide Standardized Seismic Network) stations started functioning globally.

Back To Previous Page | Last modified date : 19-03-2021